Matthew Cooperman

Matthew Cooperman is the author of five poetry collections: Spool, winner of the New Measure Prize (Free Verse Editons/Parlor Press, 2015), Imago for the Fallen World (Jaded Ibis Press, 2013), Still: Of the Earth as the Ark which Does Not Move (Counterpath, 2011), DaZE (Salt Publishing Ltd, 2006), and A Sacrificial Zinc (2001), winner of the Lena-Miles Wever Todd Prize.

Four chapbooks exist as well: Little Spool, winner of the Pavement Saw Chapbook Prize (Pavement Saw, 2015), Still: (to be) Perpetual (dove|tail, 2007), Words about James (Phylum Press, 2005), and Surge, winner of the Wick Prize (Kent State University, 1998). Recent poetry and criticism have appeared in JacketNew American Writing, PleiadesPrairie SchoonerLana TurnerVOLT, Free VerseDenver Quarterly, and Gutcult, among others. A founding editor of the exploratory prose journal Quarter After Eight, he is a co-poetry editor at Colorado Review.

Cooperman teaches at poetry writing workshops and literature at Colorado State University, where he is a poetry editor of Colorado Review.